Life Is Good Again!! CHILIS!!!

Last week I ran through my least favorite store.  You know the one, the store with the big smiley face, Walmart.    And wonder of wonders, they had New Mexican green chilis for $.25 a pound!!    I had to stop and do a double take.

  They really were.  Mountains of them!  Okay, a mountain of them.  And OH THE HEAVENLY SCENT!!!  You have no idea how I have missed those chilis since moving to Texas.  You can get chilis in the markets, but they just don’t compare to the real deal – New Mexican green chilis.  Needless to say, I bought  about 20 pounds of these little gems and roasted them in my oven.  Yeah, it took a while.  But the aroma eminating from my oven took me back to New Mexico and the chili roasters roasting chilis in the open air.   I cried, danced and ate a couple just roasted.   Good thing they don’t make a roasting chili perfume, I’d be wearing it for sure.

Not quite the same experience of stopping in a parking lot and talking chilis, choosing your chilis and watching them roast them in those huge propane roasters then driving home two hours with the windows rolled up in order to inhale each and every roasted chili aroma molecule, but it’ll do for now.  Perhaps again someday.

Guess you figured out I kinda like chilis.

4 responses to “Life Is Good Again!! CHILIS!!!

  1. I know what you mean about missing them! Geno brought home a small bag he had bought and roasted at the restaurant.(I was dancing just a wee bit). We are planning a meal to really savor them in. I’m so happy you acquired some real NM green chilis!!!

  2. So happy you get to have some chilis!!! I did a happy dance for you all!!! Life is to shorrt to go without REAL chilis!!! I hope the kiddos appreciate them as much as us big kiddos. I tossed some in my lacto-fermented salsa last week. OH YUM!! Forgot to tell you, I ordered a tiny bag of chippolte pepper powder from Purcell Mountain. Super stuff and real prompt shipping!! Also got some Christmas lima beans, those were too good also.

  3. I too get very enthusiastic when I find a product I love and sometimes even go overboard…….Did you make any of your own pepper powder with them? Or do you not use those type of peppers for that? We make powdered peppers with our sweet and hot peppers out back.

    • Yes, my hubby would agree that I CAN go overboard. Back in New Mexico we would buy the chilis by the burlap bagful to have roasted. I use them to make green chili to put on enchiladas, in omlets, soups, stews, jambalaya, rellenos and anything else that might make it across my stove. These are warm, spicy, hot peppers used in traditional mexican cooking, but most are not as hot as say, serranos. Chilis and jalapenos are my addiction in life. But alas, the drought that hit Texas so ard this summer killed even my lovely purple jalapeno plants, so no jalapenos to put up this year (yes, I cried). We normally produce most of our veggies, but this year we will be dependent on grocery produce till my aquaponics experiment gets in full swing.

      These would be really good dried and ground into powder. I should do that, thanks for the reminder. I love roasted powdered peppers!!! What varieties of peppers do you grow?

      Thanks for stopping in!!

Leave a Reply

